Assembly Members of LaNMMA Sworn Into Office

Twenty-two (22) Assembly members comprising fifteen (15) Elected Members and seven (7)  Government Appointees, as well as 75 Unit Committee members were sworn into office at the La Nkwantanang-Madina Municipal Assembly (LaNMMA) on Monday, February 12, 2024.

The swearing-in which took place at the Assembly’s premises was administered by Her Worship Rosemary Abena Gyimah, with the members constituting the fourth Assembly of the Municipality.

Mrs. Jennifer Dede Adjabeng, the Municipal Chief Executive (MCE), in her address, commended the newly elected members and the appointees for accepting to take up the enormous task to serve their people.

According to her, the path they had chosen put them in a unique position to formulate policies that would directly affect the lives of the people.

Mr. Kwaku Ampratwum-Sarpong, the Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration, urged the new members to abreast themselves with the Assembly’s Bye-Laws, especially on spatial planning in order to prevent unplanned settlements in their communities.

Voting for the position of a Presiding Member took place immediately after the swearing in of the Assembly members.

After two rounds of voting, Nii Ashie Kotey, a government appointee, had nine votes in each round, while Ibrahim Abdul Razak, an elected member, also got 14 votes in each round.

The election, supervised by officials of the Electoral Commission, had each of the candidates failing to gather two-thirds of total votes cast to secure the position of a Presiding Member of the Assembly.

The final election is expected to take place within 10 days and if no clear winner emerged the two candidates would step down to allow others to contest for the position.



Leave a Reply

The La-Nkwantanang Madina Assembly exists to proactively improve upon the quality of life of its people by harnessing the available resources in partnership with both the public and the private sectors for the development of the Municipal Assembly … Read More



Copyrights © 2020 –  La Nkwantanang Madina Municipal Assembly. All rights reserved

Developed by G Online Sites